Thrift Haul: Palm Springs Style

My Haul

I rarely do the thrift shops or consignment stores.

I don’t have the patience for that type of shopping.

I have to be in the right frame of mind to dig through some stuff.

You never know what you might find.

And there is always the possibility that you will walk away with nothing.

It’s a lot like shopping at Ross or TJ Maxx.

Which are two more things I don’t do often.

I like to be able to easily locate what I’m looking for.

And I hate to find something I love in the wrong size or color and know that there is no way in hot hades that I will be able to locate my size/color in the chaos that is such a store.

Needless to say, this type of shopping requires that I be in the best mood possible to prevent any sort of breakdown.

So I have to be mighty relaxed to voluntarily embark on such a shopping adventure.

Enter my birthday weekend in Palm Springs and voila you have the makings of a perfect thrifting weekend.

And this birthday girl did not end up empty-handed.

In fact I killed it.

So here’s the breakdown of my bounty:


1. Vintage blue silk boudoir jacket with lace detail $25

This piece is so beautiful and light.  I can totally see me rocking it with a white tank and jeans.  Or even with a black cami and slacks to work.

2. 3 strand, twisted, mid chest length freshwater pearl necklace $68

I love pearls.  And apparently so does my mommy because this beauty now resides at her house.


3. High-waisted, A-line denim skirt $5

My curves in this skirt are beyond dangerous.  I love it.  Will totally be wearing this to one of my meetings real soon.

4. Pink handmade feather scarf $5

I love scarves and this one is so light and feminine and pretty. 


5. Brown linen Larry Levine pea coat $20

I’ve been on the look out for a lightweight pea coat and I hit pay dirt with this baby.  Again I can see it worn with jeans or slacks. 

6. Coral Ann Taylor blouse $5

This color against my skin is really nice.  And I love Ann Taylor so I couldn’t pass it up.

$128 for 6 pieces that are extremely versatile and will work in my wardrobe effortlessly.

Now for those who can’t stomach wearing someone else’s clothes. 

All of the clothes I purchased were new with tags. 

Just because you are thrifting doesn’t necessarily mean you have to do pre-worn.

But if you are willing to do pre-worn, of course your options are expanded.

And hey, that’s what the cleaners is for.

So there you have my Palm Springs haul.

I did good.  Yup, real good.

One thought on “Thrift Haul: Palm Springs Style

  1. Pingback: Gel Nail Polish Fiasco « The Candy Shoppe

What are you thinking?

