Fathers Be Good to Your Daughters

Growing up I always wished my father was around.

And I’m not talking in that I see you every other weekend/month/year kinda way either.

I mean around like every day/nite type of around.

Like my daddy is home type of around.

Now I had a step father who was with me from the 5th grade right on through college.

But it wasn’t the same, not even close to being the same as having my daddy around.

Always wanted to have my daddy tell me how beautiful I was and run off the boys who tried to partake of that beauty.

Always wanted my daddy to be available to hug and hold hands with and give all the love that little girls hold solely for their daddies.

Always wanted my daddy to tell me how smart and accomplished I was and beam with pride every time he came to an awards ceremony or sporting event or graduation.

Always wanted my daddy to be available to talk about all the things that little girls need to talk to their daddies about: love, boys, and life.

Always wanted but never quite got it.

And now I am a grown woman, with a child of my own.

And my daddy wants to be around.

He wants to tell me how beautiful I am.

He wants to hug and hold hands and get all the love that is solely for him.

He wants to tell me how smart and accomplished I am.

And how proud he is of all that I’ve done.

He wants to be my confidant as only a father can be for his daughter.

But I’m not around.

We have an every other weekend/month/year kinda relationship.

Not a every day/nite type of thing going.

See we never quite got it right.

2 thoughts on “Fathers Be Good to Your Daughters

    • The thing about it is that I love my dad. I’m just not a little girl anymore and it’s real hard to establish that type of relationship when I’m busy parenting myself. Hopefully you and your daughter work it out so that she never has to even think about this deal. Luck to you

What are you thinking?

