NaNoWriMo: Do I Need Cream For That?

I’ve got the NaNoWriMo bug and no I don’t need any cream for that.

I know some of y’all are giving me the side-eye right about now.

And others are googling the term to see if it’s contagious.

But rest assured it is not.

NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month.

It is a writing challenge which takes place in November.

With the goal of completing a 50,000 word novel by month’s end.

I decided to participate because one of my goals as a writer is to in fact write (and hopefully publish) books.

To be honest, I was quite nervous when I signed up for the challenge.

I mean 50,000 words in 30 days is no small task.

Plus I had no idea what I wanted to write.

No characters.  No theme.  No plot.  No universal truth that I wanted to speak on.

Add to that my full-time job, being a single mother and of course keeping this lovely blog chugging along.

And well it seemed darn near impossible.

But I signed up anyways.

And I am happy to report that not only do I have the makings of what I think is going to be a great novel.

But a piece of work that I believe will bring healing and inspiration to a lot of hurting girls and women.

So if you notice that the posts around these parts seem sparse for the next 30 days.

Please be patient with me and know I am diligently plugging along on something dear to my heart.

NaNoWriMo or bust!

9 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: Do I Need Cream For That?

  1. So glad you’re doing this! I am too, which makes us both crazy!My username is slightlyoffbalance but I don’t really know what to do besides write every night. What do writing buddies mean?

    • Yay Paige!! I’m excited that I’m not the only one…company is always appreciated on the crazy wagon. Honestly I’m not sure what happens when we become buddies but I have been adding ladies that I know are participating. Perhaps when things get tough we can support and encourage each other. I will add you when I log in tonight to update my word count.

What are you thinking?

