Etta James

I heard this morning that she passed

And though I’d read of her going in and out of the hospital

The news of her passing still hit me like an unexpected punch

Her music has been the thing that I turn to when my heart feels like it is literally aching in my chest

Her music has been the thing that spoke when my crying would not allow me to utter a word

Her music has whispered to my soul when it was so transparent that I thought it might disappear forever

And her music has been the joy

The sparkle

The glow of happiness that only music can impart.

Rest peaceful

Etta James, a true legend

20120120-100127.jpg

4 thoughts on “Etta James

  1. Pingback: Addio Etta James la signora del blues | La via per Shambhala

  2. Pingback: On Music: At Last And More… | Mirth and Motivation

What are you thinking?

