Natural Hair = Mass Appeal?

So as most of y’all know I’ve been wearing my hair curly for the past year or so.

I’ve been natural for over 3 years but was still rocking the straight styles religiously.

Until one day last August I just decided that I wanted to try something new.

I didn’t really think too much about it.

Just washed my hair and styled it as best as I could.

And in the year since, I haven’t straightened my hair once.

On top of that I’ve been rocking a lot of up-dos and twists.

Now I say all of this because the other day I got several compliments on my hair.

All of them from non African-American men.

No biggie.  I mean I’ve always had multiracial fans lol.

But my primary pool consisted of African-American and Hispanic men.

And  it occurred to me that since I’ve been rocking the hair in its natural state, that my ratio of African-American men to other races has drastically dipped.

Now don’t get me wrong, I have had quite a few brothers share their appreciation of the hair.

However, it doesn’t even come close to when I was rocking the long straight hair.

On the other side of the coin, I have to say that my caucasian brothers are definitely stepping up.

I never really got approached by white men on the regular.

But now its like a daily thing.

And they all comment on my hair.

It’s kind of crazy.

I mean I’m the same woman.

Weight, Curves, Hair Color, Eye Color, Style, Personality, Intelligence & Sense of Humor.

Yup, all the same.

The only difference is that the do is now curly and mostly pulled up and away from my face.

So now I get a good mix of all types of men.

 I guess my natural hair = mass appeal.

I ain’t mad one bit.

Have any of my natural haired readers noticed any change in their dating pool?  For the men out there, do you have a preference in hair on women?

2 thoughts on “Natural Hair = Mass Appeal?

  1. Pingback: naturally natural « Haight68Ashbury : Unplugged

  2. Pingback: Wiggin’ Out Wednesdays…Coming in to the Natural Me |

What are you thinking?

