I’m Not Celebrating the Death of Osama Bin Laden

There is a lot of celebrating going on.

All because a man was killed.

Yesterday it was announced that Osama Bin Laden was found and killed in Pakistan.

And I will say that the moment I heard the news I felt a sense of relief.

Relief that the face that seemed to be the logo for terrorism was no longer roaming this earth.

I know there are many who say that it’s not 100% certain that he was the mastermind behind September 11th.

However for me, and many others, he symbolized the terrorist movement that carried out those attacks.

And as I watched CNN and listened to President Obama speak,

I recalled how I felt on the morning of September 11th.

The worry that seized my heart, for loved ones who lived in New York.

The sadness at the multitude of innocent people killed and the one’s they left behind.

The fear that perhaps an attack on the opposite coast, my home, might be imminent.

All of these things crossed my mind when I heard that the man who supposedly masterminded those attacks was no longer living.

And my heart was relieved that he would no longer be able to propagate hate.

No longer be able to motivate so many to carry out horrendous crimes.

But I did not celebrate.

Will not celebrate the death of any human being.

Not even that of Osama Bin Laden.

*The 2011 BLACK WEBLOG AWARDS NOMINATIONS are now open.  The awards are a celebration of African-American bloggers and are decided by the readers.  From now until May 7, 2011 you have the option of nominating your favorite blogs.  Once the nominees have been chosen then you can return and vote for the winners.

If you would be so kind as to visit the site and nominate The Candy Shoppe, that would be so great.

2 thoughts on “I’m Not Celebrating the Death of Osama Bin Laden

  1. Pingback: Osama Lives On? « Alternative Health Answers

  2. Pingback: SEPTEMBER 11TH VS ONZE DE SETEMBRE « THE.CAT

What are you thinking?

