No Support for Kelley Williams-Bolar

This morning I received an email asking that I support Kelley Williams-Bolar in her efforts to fight a recent felony conviction.

If you haven’t heard Ms. Bolar is an Ohio mom who was convicted of lying in order to have her children attend a highly ranked school outside of her home school district.

Ms. Bolar continues to claim that she kept part time residence with her father whose home was in the districts boundaries.

However the school district and a jury felt that this was not true.

Now comes I suppose the heart wrenching part of the story.

Ms. Bolar was studying to become a teacher and now due to this felony conviction she may not be able to attain this dream.

In addition her position at a school may also be in jeopardy due to this conviction.

The only problem is that this doesn’t move me.

In fact it makes me a little upset that so many are willing to hop on the bandwagon of support for this woman.

As cold as that may sound, I think we need to stop lending our support to those who have done wrong.

And before anyone starts jumping down my throat let me tell you a little story.

I recently moved from a very highly distinguished school district to a less distinguished district.

Of course, being the mother that I am, I wanted my son to remain at his top notch school.

Now, I have a very close family friend who lives in the district and I was given the opportunity to utilize her address to maintain my son’s eligibility to attend school.

However, I knew that this would be wrong.

It would mean lying and signing my name to documents that I knew were not true.

So, what did I do?

I went to the school district and found out the process for legally having my son allowed to remain in his school.

The process involved some leg work.

It wasn’t guaranteed.

But it was the right thing to do.

And that is why I can’t get behind this support effort for Kelley Williams-Bolar.

Because we have to stop giving our support to those who blatantly disregard the law.

Those who show no true moral fortitude.

We have to show our children that you can have opportunity and succeed in life.

And you can do this without breaking the law and while maintaining their moral code. 

 

4 thoughts on “No Support for Kelley Williams-Bolar

  1. Everything doesn’t need to be criminalized. She didn’t harm anyone. The tax money they have spent going through all of this could be used for something more important…like public education.

    • Welcome NinaG. I absolutely agree that sometimes our society can be overly focused on criminalizing acts to the point where money is being wasted. I still think though that we don’t have to throw our support behind someone who has done wrong and try to make it into something positive. When there was the alternative of doing the same thing in a legal manner and having a positive outcome for her children.

  2. I support Bolar-Williams. Her case is bringing attention to the unconstitutionality of barring kids from better opportunities. PUBLIC education quality based on property tax is Jim crow in effect. It is a race issue, a class issue and a human issue. Just because you followed a flawed and discriminatory law does not make you more ethical, morally superior or righteous. It makes you a supporter, ultimately, of a system that is unjust. I thank Williams-Bolar for carrying the burden of scandal that will lead us to policy reform.

  3. I want to say thank you so much for talking about my (case) situation.I began blogging because it is therapeutic and I started noticing many blogs about my case. I am filled with over whelming gratitude and I give thanks to everyone that signed my petition and spoke on my behalf. I went into a great depression. Many people do know know that my father as well went to jail and he died in prison all for the education of my two daughter’s I will have a autobiography coming soon. Hopefully before the new year. I wish every one well Thank you so much. We are all a family in some form or fashion. Feel free to highlight and stay up to date with my blogs. God bless http://students4revolution.wordpress.com/2013/10/06/the-kelley-williams-bolar-story-we-all-have-a-story/

What are you thinking?

