Lazy Lynwood Afternoons with Teena Marie

When I was younger I spent many lazy afternoons in the city of Lynwood.

Laying on the floor of my aunt and uncles den listening to music.

My aunt had gone on the Price is Right and come back a winner.

Part of her bounty was a stereo system with huge speakers that seemed to dwarf the room.

I would lay there, crushing on whatever cute boy was on my mind.

And listen to Teena Marie’s Dear Lover.

The depth of feeling that emanated from her voice filled my soul to overflowing.

Even at a young age I knew that she had loved, must have loved.

How else could such feeling flow from her lips?

And it was my christening into the realm of the hurt that sometimes accompanies love.

To this day when I think of deep love I think of this song.

It has been confirmed that Teena Marie has passed away at the young age of 54.

Lady T, gone but never forgotten.

4 thoughts on “Lazy Lynwood Afternoons with Teena Marie

  1. Pingback: More about Teena Marie’s passing away! « LOFT965

  2. Pingback: TEENA MARIE REST IN PEACE « jurline

  3. Pingback: More about Teena Marie’s passing away! | Music All Stars

What are you thinking?

