The King, Dirty Heads and Sunday School

Today’s playlist pick comes to you courtesy of my son, the King.

The other day when I scooped him up from Sunday School he was humming.

Seeing as he had just stepped out of church you’d think it would be some cute little hymn.

A little “Yes Jesus Loves Me” or even “This Little Light of Mine”.

But no, that would be too much like right.

My son comes out of class humming Dirty Heads feat. Rome’s new single, Lay Me Down.

Now I’m really not sure what Jesus has to do with a little diddy about two lovers running from the authorities.

But hey, I guess that is the mind of a soon to be 8 year old.

Now I am a crazy Beastie Boys fan.

I’m pretty sure I can recite the lyrics to every song on Licensed to Ill.

Every word of every song….I do not jest.

So the first time I heard Lay Me Down blasting through my speakers,

I was like hot diggity.

It’s like the 2010 version of Paul Revere.

The song is performed by Dirty Heads and features a super catchy hook sung by Rome.

I love the almost acoustic feel of the guitar that drives the song.

And I can definitely feel the reggae vibe coming from these Southern California boys.

The premise of the song is a Bonnie/Clyde duo running from a sheriff.

Near the end of the song, the lovers have to fill the sheriff full of lead…

They wouldn’t stop running till They found a paradise.
But the sheriff finally found them with his eyes seeing red.
So the lovers had to shoot him down And fill em full of lead
They were finally free To find a place to lay their head

And unlike the Beastie Boys, it’s all in the name of love.

For more information on these artists, you can visit their websites:

Dirty Heads: http://www.dirtyheads.com/

Rome: http://www.sublimewithrome.com/

Beastie Boys: http://hellonasty.beastieboys.com/reissuecontest/contestmain.html

2 thoughts on “The King, Dirty Heads and Sunday School

What are you thinking?

