I’m Smiling (On The Inside)

It might not look like it but I’m smiling.

I know, I know.

When you looked at me you thought I was pissed.

But that didn’t stop you.

You still came over to say hello.

And even when I barely mumbled hey.

You kept on talking.

Told me all about your weekend.

Your honey.

The kids.

What you ate for breakfast.

And though I didn’t utter a word.

You kept the conversation going all by your self.

There was that slight pause.

When I thought you were done.

But you were just catching your second wind.

Told me all about your current project.

Your boss.

The co-workers.

And even when I turned around and started typing on my computer.

You didn’t let that phase you.

Heaven forbid something as little as my back would deter you.

You just figured that you needed to spice it up a bit.

Told me about the lady in the corner office.

How she tells you all of  her problems.

Not knowing that you laugh about her with the other girls in the office.

And when I turn to face you.

I see her standing right behind you.

It might not look like it but I’m smiling.

7 thoughts on “I’m Smiling (On The Inside)

  1. That’s not nice, that’s rude. Why would you turn your back on someone when they are talking to you? Didn’t your mother teach you any manners?

  2. Pingback: Pay No Attention To The Woman Behind The Curtain « The Candy Shoppe

What are you thinking?

