When I Grow Up I Want To Be An Ice-Cream Man

ice-cream-truck-clip-art-yikr9gbie

Since the boy was 3, he has wanted to be an ice-cream man.

Yeah, go ahead and laugh.

I mean it is a funny career choice.

Not a doctor or a lawyer or a pharmacist, but an ice-cream man.

That is what he wants to be.

And he is adamant about it at the ripe old age of 7.

(Correction, 7 and 3/4…brought to you courtesy of my son).

At times people have tried to tell him that he shouldn’t want to be an ice-cream man.

But I shut that and them down with a quickness.

He can be whatever he wants to be.

And who are they, or me, to tell him otherwise.

I mean to give him credit he doesn’t just want to be an ice-cream man.

He has a plan.

(And that is more than most adults can say).

He wants to attend college and study science and business.

Science will assist him in creating new and exciting frozen treats.

While business will help him run his empire.

Because you see, my little man doesn’t just want to be an ice-cream man.

He wants to be THE ICE-CREAM MAN.

Multiple locations.

A world-renowned brand.

And me behind the counter of one of said locations working sans pay.

Oh, hold up did I forget to mention he is hecka tight when it comes to money…

That’s a whole other story.

But in his endeavor to fulfill his dreams, I am a whole-hearted supporter.

Even if that means me working for free.

Because not every child wants to be a dentist or an engineer.

Some of them just want to be an ice-cream man.

And that’s cool with me.

114 thoughts on “When I Grow Up I Want To Be An Ice-Cream Man

  1. Love, love, love this post. There are people who think and people who think BIG. And that kind of mentality starts at an early age. I remember when my daughter was just a couple years old, she said, “I don’t know what I want to be when I grow up, but I know I will be famous.”

    • I love it when children prophesy their destinies…especially when greatness is involved. Thanks so much for stopping by and reading, it’s much appreciated.

  2. I think that’s wonderful that he wants to be something that most children don’t think of. And even better that you are letting him run with it. Our children our not ‘ours’ to project our desires and society’s ideals of what is a ‘good’ vs. ‘bad’ job. Kudos to you and your boy!

    • HI Lindsay
      I definitely agree that we as parents have to let go and let our children be who they are destined to be…with a little helpful guidance of course.

  3. Wonderful post! And good on you for not letting naysayers destroy your son’s dreams. As an avid ice-cream lover I’m mighty excited to see what flavors he comes up with! Thanks for writing!

  4. Great post and congrats on FP. I remember wanting to grow up to be either a cashier or a librarian due to my love of pushing buttons and stamps. Alas I ended up a paper pusher. Sounds like your son will make it as THE Ice Cream Man.

  5. Nice post sweetie… Great job.. I’m so proud of you. Ask him if I can have a part time job? Love you.

  6. Please keep on letting him want to be whatever he says! I think he’s way ahead of other kids his age, and hey, since when is ice cream bad? My boyfriend usually tells me the only one he excepts me to cheat on him with is Ben… and Jerry… 😛 Go (your) son, go !!!

  7. I remember that my son wanted to open up restaurants all over the country and people would only have to pay a quarter to eat there and he would serve the best food in existence. Until he saw WWE wrestling and wanted to go to wrestling college…lol..Now at the age of 26 and he is a soldier headed to Afghanistan soon. This will be his fourth visit oversees. I guess when you think about it he is doing what he dreamed, taking care of the world and wrestling with the bad guys..I’ve always thought, it’s not the circumstances you are in, but the attitude in your heart. Sounds like your son is a winner. Thanks for the read, it made my family’s day!

    • Mlluv, you are right that attitude goes a long way towards happiness. If you live in a state of thankfullness your joy will increase. So glad that your family enjoyed.

    • Crystal, I was just thinking the same thing. Here I am 34 and still trying to work out what I want to really do lol. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

  8. Oh to be so young and have such a wonderful dream. Icecreams top my list of treats so great …maybe I’ll
    come by to taste his icecreams !!!

    Roda

  9. It’s his dream and kudos to you for allowing him to have it and encouraging it. I’ll remember this story when I one day read about the store of The Ice-cream Man and how successful his has become.

  10. LOVE this! It’s so important not to stifle creativity and dreams of children, especially if we are only doing it because we have some preconceived notion of what success is. I applaud you for empowering him!

    • Thanks Catherine. I really am trying to raise him to think highly of himself. I think a lot of children have low self-esteem beginning at a young age and that leads them into some unsavory situations. If they think highly of themselves, then they will respect themselves and require that others treat them with respect.

  11. Could you please please tell him that I am so looking for his ice creams and I hope he sell his artistic-taste-ice creams in South Korea too. 😀 He gatta have a branch in South Korea. 😀
    His ice creams would be the sweetest ice creams on the Earth.

  12. Sweet and refreshing. Forget about people, children and adults, dreaming big or small. Society has already defined for us what IS big – doctor, engineer, lawyer. A limited range of choices, each of which require an intense focus on school then work are too restrictive for the multiple characters and individualities that exist. Not to mention the human need for other things besides work.

  13. i agree….kids should peruse what they think right but parents should always guide them by making them aware of what is right & what is wrong!!

  14. Kudos.. thats exactly how it should be.
    On a lighter note, I was so fond of that desert that my mom often joked that I marry an Ice-cream Man…

    Alas, the age difference…
    🙂

  15. Awww…This is so cute.

    I tell you, a kid should be geared into making the right career choices from the very first. Otherwise, they wind up being frustrated doctors/engineers/lawyers.

    And besides, he does have a grand plan.

  16. If I could make ice cream, I’d be an ice cream woman. But then I’d probably eat more than I already do. And that’s not a solid plan.

  17. I will be keeping my eyes peeled for a franchise called The Ice Cream Man in my neighbourhood sometime in 15 to 20 years or so (it might take awhile to make its way to Canada). It’s refreshing to see that such supportive parents do still exist. Congrats on the FP…

  18. Good for him! I’m 21 (and 3/4), and I still get excited when I hear the ice-cream man coming down the street! I wish him luck.. sounds like he will do just fine in whatever he wants to do.

  19. Sounds like a good plan, there’s no such thing as too much ice cream! My middle girl wants to take over my job at the library when she grows up so that I can stay home and makes cards. That’s right, baby, support your mommy in her old age – trained her right I think – but time will tell, she’s only 6.

  20. I hope he does! I am looking forward to see the day with him leading the entire troop of Ice Cream vans across the world! It’s awesome that he’s determined 🙂 and organised! He’s further than where I should be, career-thought-process wise.

  21. I love this post! I’m so glad that some people stick to their dreams, and it pays off in the best of ways!

  22. Oh my gosh. I LOVE this post.

    I think it’s a very good thing to encourage your young son that he can “be whatever he wants to be”… It may not seem like a career–an ice cream man–but your son is a smart cookie and as long as he has plans for higher education (which is absolutely NEEDED in this day and age to get somewhere), he’ll soon realize other opportunities, or find a different direction, which could be more lucrative or he might find another trade or job aspiration he’s interested in. And if he doesn’t, I bet he’ll be THE Ice Cream Man. Children who have people to encourage and support their goals, often go on to become whatever they want to be, and it often times is what makes them happy (which is important for quality of life). They also ream big, and have big aspirations and their ideas come to life and actually become real because they have been encouraged to grow and become the “doers” of society.

    I know your son will be great! 🙂

  23. Not only did I Love this post, but I was happy that the comments were all positive too. Too often we read blogs with replies that are negative. What a happy world your boy lives in, and thanks for sharing his dream with us. Ah, to be a child again… Wait, I’m still a child at heart, and it sounds like most readers of this post are too! Make that 2 scoops for me! :o) [I liked this post so much, I think I’ll mention it on mine!]

    • Thanks you so much for the mention. I just started this blog a little over a month ago and I am so excited to have people reading/commenting/and coming back to read my stuff. All the great feedback and the Freshly Pressed mention have just made my month.

  24. Pingback: We All Scream for Ice Cream « Star Toy Co. Blog

  25. If he can revive the magic of the ice cream truck, and rescue it from it’s current moribund, cynical, van-with-a-freezer-and-stickers state, more power to him!

  26. I love you son’s plan and the fact that he is looking to keep his costs down a la you! 😉 Good for you for supporting him. Everyone’s definition of success SHOULD be personal. If everyone wanted to be a lawyer or a doctor, the world would have problems. Passion is more important the conforming and much more rewarding!

    When he’s ready, tell him I’ll be a customer!

    I think FP is great for finding new blogs to follow – congrats by the way! I love your writing style and will be adding you to my blogroll!

    • Paige I absolutely agree with you on passion…it’s just as (if not more) important as money or fame when it comes to picking a profession.

      I was super syked to be on FP and thanks for the blogroll add its much appreciated.

  27. I remember a time when my parents asked my little sister and I what we wanted to be when we grew up.

    I dutifully answered, “A doctor!”

    My little sister? “An ice cream woman!”

    My parents laughed, and we still get a kick out of it today. But that just shows the endearing quality of youth and the unmeasurable value of dreams. Bravo for highlighting it. 😉

  28. I love this post. Fine example of a future entrepreneur!! Good for him and good for you in supporting his 7 and 3/4 year old dream!!

  29. I was out blog surfing and happened across your post. I loved it, it was refreshing to read. I hope I’m around long enough to buy some ice cream from one of his Franchises. Move over Ben & Jerry and surrender your monopoly card…the kid is gunnin for yah.

  30. an ice cream empire, woohoo!
    way to go businesskiddo
    don’t forget flavors like pistachio,
    raspberry, and green tea, too.

    you have a cool mama
    who dreams with you
    lucky, lucky you!
    cheers for you two! 🙂

  31. I love this post! The world needs more ice cream men!!! If “they” have anything to say, you should remind them of some very famous ice cream men (Ben and Jerry, Baskin and Robin, etc.) who most likely loved being ice cream men and are laughing all the way to the bank. Your son shows some real creativity – something this world needs more of.

    http:/4mothers1blog.wordpress.com

  32. Pingback: When I Grow Up I Want To Be An Ice-Cream Man (via The Candy Shoppe) | redOrange’s Blog

  33. I love this! Your kid is so cute— let me know when he comes out with his first flavor. I will try it and like it no matter what it is.

    My 6, when he was 3, wanted to become a robot. Now he wants to be a policeman… I think becoming a robot is way cooler but, to quote you— “he can be whatever he wants!”

    =D

  34. I love this post. I’m a teacher and a few years ago, I taught a student who wanted to grow up and work in the local post office. I was amazed at the time, but the more I thought about it, the more it made sense. He was a young kid, and the Post Office seemed busy and interesting to him. I’ve lost touch with him over the years, but I wonder where he works and whether it’s as interesting…

  35. Believe it or not, I have a nephew who aspires to the very same thing. He’s only in elementary school, but for the last few years he has steadfastly maintained that he will one day drive an ice cream truck as a career. Perhaps these two guys will corner the market!

  36. Give my love and best wishes to your kiddo…. When i was that young I wanted to be a cabbie… Ferrying people around….
    Dnt know why…

    • Probably would be interesting…driving around seeing all kinds of things and meeting all types of people. Thanks for stopping by, hope you come back soon.

  37. This is too cute, I love it, and it’s wonderful that you’re just supporting your son and he certainly has a really thorough idea of what he’s been planning with his ice cream man business.

  38. Good for him! And good for you for supporting him rather than pushing him in a different direction. This post was just too awesome.

  39. Making ice cream is an incredibly rewarding way to make a living! What’s better than creating things that make people happy?! Let him go with it, I think it’s great you’re not pushing him one way or another. I grew up thinking I would never have a desk job, and ended up 15 years in front of a computer… then I started making ice cream and now own my own ice cream business, and waking up in the morning is a wonderful feeling now. Food science and technology have come a long way and are necessary in order to create ice cream – your 9 year old seems quite well informed!

  40. I LOVE this post. My dad was a chocolate man. When my brother and I were growing up, we used to go to his store and pick out any chocolates we wanted to eat.

    Just last week I found myself waiting in an airport, right outside a chocolate shop, and I remembered how much joy my dad had given to us, and all the kids (and grown ups) who went into his store.

    I hope your son’s dreams come true 🙂

  41. Great post! 🙂 I am happy to see a parent supportive of their children’s wishes and dreams, whether they agree with them or not. Congratulations for you! 😀 You seem to be a great mom.

    Many kids say big things about what they want to be, but they are just empty words.

    I really hope he achieves his dream so he can be happy! 🙂

  42. He’s got a plan. And at 7 and 3/4, that is so adorable! I wish him luck with his dreams! No dream is too small for a person with big goals. 🙂

  43. Love this post…so enjoy that he had such a detailed plan at 7 3/4 yrs.of age. Am even more impressed that his mom supported his idea – let him know early on that he could be whatever he wanted to be and do it his own way. Kudos to mom!

  44. I, for one, am reminded of Baskin Robbins, Coldstone and Dairy Queen. Every one of them started out with a dream, and look how successful they all are.

    I think that if you want something then you should go for it. And kudos to you for keeping your son’s dream alive. Without your support, someone would have talked him out of it by now. it’s supportive parents like you that mold the future great entrepreneurs.

    THANK YOU for being a good parent.

  45. Pingback: When I Grow Up I Want To Be An Ice-Cream Man (via The Candy Shoppe) « Cancer of the bone

  46. Interesting, to say the least. I want to open up my cake shop one day but am too much of a chicken to do so. Your son inspired me! 😀

    Ciao,
    YB

  47. I was just having a crappy near-end-of-day at work, and I must say reading this just made it soo much better 🙂

    Your child has a spectacular plan!

  48. Pingback: Tweets that mention When I Grow Up I Want To Be An Ice-Cream Man « The Candy Shoppe -- Topsy.com

  49. Pingback: When he grows up, he wants to be… THE ice-cream man. | not always sensical thoughts . . .

  50. If he runs a huge icecream brand you’d get lot of delicious things for dinner everyday and that is more important. It is one of the coolest jobs

  51. Pingback: On dreams… and dream believers. « tashination blog

  52. We loved your blog and the support and understanding you have for your child. Squashing dreams is never productive and as your child grows older those dreams will possibly change.
    I went from wanting to be a reindeer to a tutor—- who knew 🙂

    • It’s not easy…at least for me. As a mom I want so much for him and sometimes it’s hard to stop and listen to what he wants. It’s a learning experience for both of us…he is growing and learning what he wants and I am growing and learning how to let him just be.

  53. My favourite £multi-millionaire entrepreneur of all time Duncan Bannatyne started off as an ice cream man. It’s an awesome profession. Not that your motivation needs to be £££ but you DO need to follow your heart and do something that you are passionate about. Too many people earn £££ but hate their job. That sucks. Ice cream van man anyday… 99 with a flake please….

  54. Pingback: We Don’t Swim « The Candy Shoppe

  55. Pingback: Blogalicious: Men have ice-cream balls « The Little Libbers

  56. Pingback: Dodgeblogium » Beckapalooza CoTV

  57. Pingback: Philosophy 300: Dream Finder « The Candy Shoppe

  58. Pingback: Go Blog! It’s Your Birthday!! « The Candy Shoppe

What are you thinking?

