Love Makes My Eye Twitch

Love makes my eye twitch.

Not the being in love part.

But the ending of the relationship part.

The releasing and letting go.

It’s like two kids playing tug a rope, who abruptly release their grip and walk away.

You wonder what was the purpose of playing in the first place.

No one won.

I know it really isn’t the love that does it, you know, makes my eye twitch.

It’s the stress of it all.

So if you see me out and about anytime soon.

Know I’m not getting fresh with you.

It’s just my eye reacting to me trying to work out the whole,

Yeah we love each other but neither one of us is happy so let’s just let go,

Thing.

It’s complicated…bear with me.

I hate it when my eye twitches.

It feels so not normal.

Not right.

But at the same time it’s perfectly right

Kind of like the semicolon at the end of a sentence.

You think maybe a comma or a period would work better.

But no. 

The semicolon is actually the perfect fit.

So my eye will twitch for a few days or maybe even a few weeks.

And I will realize that just because I chose to walk away from the game.

Doesn’t negate the fun that was had while playing.

Then I will wake up one day to find the twitching has stopped.

Just like the ache in my heart.

9 thoughts on “Love Makes My Eye Twitch

  1. I have faith that we would be such good friends because you are always writing what is in my mind. Love of the fluidness of the words!!!

    • Its flattering that someone would think I could be a friend based off my writing. I love that who I am flows out just how I intended it. I want to be as real and open and creative as possible. Thank you so much you are a sweetheart indeed.

  2. Nice post. I can really relate to your writing. Great job. Don’t ever quit because God has blessed you with the talent.

  3. Pingback: Love the Way You Lie by Eminem feat. Rihanna « The Candy Shoppe

  4. Eye twitching is part of the grieving process. Some people make closer attachments than others and these are harder to break. I also find it true that the more physically familiar you are with one another, the harder that twitch is. If the bond is completely broken and not lingering around the unrequited love will make the twitch stop…and so will the ache in your heart.

    If I hadn’t met you, I wouldn’t like you. If I hadn’t liked you, I wouldn’t love you. If I wouldn’t love you, I wouldn’t miss you. But I did, I do and I will.

    I can’t talk to you anymore, it’s not that I am mad at you, it’s just that when I talk to you I realize how much I love you and when I realize how much I love you, the more I fight with you, the more I fight with you, I realize I can’t have you and that makes me love you even more.

    • I hadn’t heard of twitching being part of the grieving process but perhaps as a physical reaction to the stress of loss it would make sense.

      Mine is definitely stress. Eye twitching for me is a signal I need to chill out with a quickness. Be it relationship, parenting, work etc. Its my bodys way of saying “You have know moved beyond the realm of normal everyday stress. Please return to you right calm mind” LOL

      Thanks for your comments. They are always thoughtful

What are you thinking?

