You Have Pretty Eyes

Today I was lounging on the couch with my son after church.

I love those times when it’s just him and I.

Just lying around, enjoying being together.

Our little family…small but big on love.

We were just lying there watching Sponge Bob, when out of the blue he rolls over.

Looks me dead in the eyes and says, “Mama, you have pretty eyes.”

He went on to explain how he liked the light brown surrounded by a little blue.

Then he rolled back over and finished watching his cartoon.

Of course I melted…I mean who wouldn’t when the love of your life gives you a wonderful compliment.

But even more than looking into my son’s beautiful eyes and hearing him tell me specifically what he loves about mine.

Is the thought that he is growing up into a wonderful young man.  A caring, considerate and loving man.

Not only does he take the time to notice things, but considers them thoughtfully and can express them with truth and love.

So one day he will look into the eyes of the woman he loves,

tell her “You have pretty eyes,”

mean it with all his heart

and she will melt, just like I did today.

6 thoughts on “You Have Pretty Eyes

  1. I pray that he keeps that attitude when he grows. Too many people lose their considerate natures as they lose their youth and innocence. Teach him well.

    • Yes, I am definitely trying to instill in him qualities that I think will benefit him as an adult. However I must confess that his considerate, thoughtful nature is something he was born with; I’m just trying to nurture it as best as I can.

  2. Awww!!! That was beautiful. Hearing him say that had to be one of the best feelings in the world.

What are you thinking?

